Son

Good evening y’all. So here in the Philippines, tomorrow is the big day for our new President, passing the responsibilities from the old administration to the new. I don’t really know what to expect since the new president isn’t actually the one I was rooting for. I like him and I’m fine with him being the president, but hey, it’s just my opinion.

After all the good talk and all the criminality solving shenanigans, Pres. Rodrigo Duterte (yes, that’s him) I am expecting a lot from him. But before we talk about what he is going to do, lets talk about what the old president did. in a few hours, he will be former President Benigno Aquino III, the “son” of Cory and Ninoy Aquino. So why did I enclose “son” in quotation marks? That’s because he always used the fact that he is the son of the two great “heroes” of the Philippines to boost himself. Now the reason why I enclosed “heroes” in quotation marks will be brought up next time, but for now, lets focus on the “son.” Many of the politicians use their parents to boost themselves in campaigns. It’s not bad to be proud of your parents but to use them for the sake of boosting yourself? Where is the independence in that? Where is the leadership in that? How do you expect to be a leader if you cannot even carry your own weight? Every time I see something like “Vote for _____, son/daughter of the great ____,” it makes me cringe.

Leave a comment